Santa Fe Spirits Distillery

 

I had a little bit of time after a long day of shopping to stop by the Santa Fe Spirits Distillery and try some of their spirits. I have wanted to stop by there for a while now and see what they had to offer.

I have found that I really enjoy “trying before buying”, this way I know if I like a product before I buy it. Soo much better than buying a product off the shelf to find that Ewww… wasted money, which happens to me fairly often; especially with some of the newer products hitting our shelves today.

I have to admit, I was excided to finally have the chance to stop by Santa Fe Spirits. I walked into a very nice, cozy showroom, but found they only carries 4 products…the excitement quickly faded.

 

Silver Coyote- pure malt whisky: This is a very sweet smelling and tasting whisky. A tad too sweet for my tastes, but fairly smooth. (I have a tendency to like sweeter spirits, but wow!)

Expedition Vodka-corn vodka? That’s what they said, but it was a tad to rough for my palate…kind of like rubbing alcohol with a never leave your mouth after taste and burn. Don’t get me wrong, wheat vodka’s tend to taste like rubbing alcohol to me, just lighter and smoother (or what I can imagine rubbing alcohol to taste like). Tis the reason I wanted to taste this one, because I thought it would have a sweeter smoother taste to it. Maybe my palate isn’t sophisticated enough. The malt whisky tasted more like what I would have thought the Vodka would taste like.

Santa Fe Spirits Apple Brandy: The apple brandy tasted like a very sweet caramel apple. I have come to the conclusion that I like fine brandies better, but not to fruity. (A fine brandy doesn’t have any extra flavoring, coloring or sugar added to it.)

Wheelers Gin: Flat. That’s the only word I can find to describe the begging of this gin, not much flavor, thought it did have a light licorice/chocolate finish to it from the osha root they make it with.

Oh well; all products can’t please everyone:(

Leave a Reply

