Blake-A Montana Dayton Novel Ch. 17:3

Blake Canvass3 smI left Max downstairs, went back to my office, pulled out my notes, and searched over them for anything I might have missed. After I scanned over them one last time I stuffed them into a drawer and locked it.

Could it be that some weird strain of Chameleon or other animal was injected into a human?

I began researching cloning on the Internet and soaked up the information like a sponge.

Cloning animals continued to be the next big thing in our generation. And now scientists are experimenting with stem cells. Many things are genetically modified with a special set of technologies that alter the genetic makeup of organisms, such as animals and plants.

Could this have been a every day experiment that went wrong?

According to Max this thing was highly dangerous.

Could he be an experiment the government or some other organization made for war?

We already used guns, knives, bombs, weapons of mass destruction, and much more. Not including biological warfare.

Didn’t we have enough ways to kill without creating new technology?

My mind wandered into conspiracy theory mode as I started to think about the secrets the government has covered up over the years. Not to mention the organizations that don’t really exist.

I chuckled under my breath, a major cover up would be in order if the psycho/thing decided to do some massive damage while  on the run.

The more I considered this new information I discovered, the less it surprised me. Most likely this creature was an experimental “Soldier.” It made sense; he was quick, deadly, not easily seen, and animals couldn’t sense him. What a scary theory. But then, I might be way off base, my imagination might be getting the better of me. The only way to find out would be to track it down myself.

I stepped into my closet and picked out some warm clothes. I stashed a knife and some extra bullets in the pockets of my jeans and hung everything up by some scarves. I wanted to be ready. I needed to be quick, quiet, and sneaky. Max wasn’t invited on this outing. I chuckled lightly, Max wouldn’t let me out of the house if he knew what I had planned.

I searched for my cell phone. Once I found it, I made sure it was fully charged. I placed it on the dresser and made a mental note not to forget it. I wasn’t sure if I’d have a signal where I was going. Hell, I wasn’t sure exactly where I was going, but it would be better to have it on me.

I rechecked everything before heading back downstairs for some food.

“Chase called. He’s on his way over with some Ruben Sandwiches from Bear’s grill and Killer.”

Drool formed in my mouth from the thought of Ruben’s. “Sounds good. Is he staying?”

“No, he doesn’t want the girls to disturb you and they’re wiped out.”

“Oh, okay,” this needed to end soon, “anything on getting a cure for me?”

Max’s glare made me wince.

“No, they’re giving me the run around, but I’m not going to stop trying.”

“I bet it’s an experimental drug and there’s no cure.”

“I hope your wrong.”

“Chase is here. Do you mind getting the door?”

Chase’s disappointment when Max opened the door unsettled me. Max scooped up the food and murmured something to Chase before closing the door again.

“Trina and Alexis are leaving in the morning and would like to cook breakfast for us as a thank you. Are you up for that?” Max asked, as he set our food down.

“I’ll have to be.” Their timing was perfect.

We sat down at the kitchen table and dug in.

“You seem to be a million miles away. What are you thinking about?” Max stuffed the last bite of the Ruben in his mouth and picked up the trash.

I slowly lifted my head trying to conceal the light blush on my cheeks and looked into his eyes.

“Ah, I’ve thought about that a few times too.”

“And that’s all it will ever be,” I sighed; especially if what I had planned worked, Max would hate me.

The heat from Max’s gaze bore through me, making my body sizzle. His steel gray eyes were silver at this moment. I could get lost in those eyes. I chuckled and grabbed my jacket and smokes. I’d probably heat up like this regardless of that awful shot. The longer I stayed around him the more attracted to him I became.

He followed me outside. “Anything?”

“No.”

“So you’re not going to deny it then?”

“Deny what?”

“That he’s the reason you keep coming out here.”

I shrugged my shoulders, keeping my back to him.

He closed the distance between us and wrapped his arms around me. It’s a good thing I hadn’t gotten around to putting my jacket on. I put up a mental shield, bracing myself for an on slot of emotions that never came. Max or I or both of us together were getting better at staying in control.

He bent down and whispered in my ear. “My next question is very important Montana. If he was even close to your property would you tell me?”

That was a question I wasn’t sure how to answer. I wouldn’t tell him, no, but I didn’t want him to know that. So instead I turned around in his arms and lightly kissed his lips, breaking his self control. He kissed me back deeply and thoroughly, sending a blast of electrical currents through every nerve ending in my body. I started to sweat, then whimpered. Too much fire raged between us. Max must have realized it also. He kept his hands on my arms to steady me and he pulled back. We stared at each other for a moment, taking in big gulps of air as our hearts slowed down to a semi-normal beat.

“I’m not going to tell you I’m sorry Montana, because I’m not.” His hands tightened into the flesh of my arms. “I want you and I will get a cure for you if I have to beat it out of them.”

I swallowed hard, removed myself from his death grip, leaned back against the railing, and searched around for my smokes. I lit one and handed them to Max, he unclenched his fists, taking them from me. After tomorrow night he would feel different. All I had to do was stay focused until then.

“You never answered my question. Would you tell me?”

“Maybe Max. He wants to kill you.”

“He won’t.”

“How can you be so sure?”

He didn’t answer; instead he surveyed my property.

“He really isn’t here, maybe he moved on to bigger, better pastures?”

“One could only hope,” Max brushed the back of his hand over my cheek. “At least you would be safe.”

“Does that mean you’ll be leaving soon?”

“I’ll be here for a few more days. I want to make sure he’s not coming back. I need you to tell me if he returns.”

Leave a Reply

